Celebrating Excellence: Statesville Police Department Awards Banquet

Last Updated 1/11/2024In Police News, Latest City News

The Statesville Police Department held its annual awards banquet at the Statesville Civic Center on Friday, January 5, 2024. This special evening was dedicated to recognizing the contributions of the department's members and celebrating their dedication to keeping our community safe.

Police Chief David Onley welcomed the attendees including special guests and the family members of our officers and staff. Chief Onley expressed his sincere appreciation for the continued support the department receives from the community and acknowledged the sacrifices made by both our officers and their families.

This year's awards ceremony brought back the tradition of officer awards, allowing each squad and division to nominate one individual to represent them as Officer or Employee of the Year. These nominees exemplify the spirit of service and dedication that defines the Statesville Police Department.

Squad/Division Awards were presented to the following:

  • Cpl. Jeffrey Porter – Investigations Division
  • Officer Kezlan Johnson – Patrol Division A Squad
  • Officer Aaron Herman – Patrol Division B Squad
  • Officer Carson Fleming – Patrol Division C Squad
  • Officer Nicholas Devita – Patrol Division D Squad
  • Officer Ben Hardy – Community Services Division
  • Officer Solana Craig – Traffic Division
  • Officer Scott Long – School Resource Division
  • Erving “Jamal” Everett – Communications Division
  • Lee Harris – Administrative Division

In addition to individual awards, Sgt. Richie Dillard and Cpl. Michael Mitchell were honored for receiving their Advanced Certifications, showcasing their commitment to continuous learning and professional development.

The highlight of the evening was the announcement of the SPD Officer of the Year. Chief Onley proudly praised Officer Aaron Herman for his unwavering dedication to the department, not only in the past year but throughout his entire career. Officer Herman's exemplary service and leadership made him a standout choice for this prestigious award.

The SPD Awards Ceremony was a reminder of the dedication and hard work of our team members, who tirelessly work to keep our community safe. The bonds forged in service will continue to grow stronger, ensuring the safety and well-being of Statesville for many years to come.

Congratulations to all the deserving award recipients!

Click an image below to display the larger version.

Statesville Police Department Annual Crime ReportView the Annual Crime Report for 2023 for the Statesville Police Department.
Statesville Police Department Welcomes Five New OfficersOn February 14, 2024, the Statesville Police Department welcomed five new officers into its ranks during a swearing-in ceremony held at ...
Statesville Police Department Makes Drug Arrests Followi... On February 10, 2024, members of the Statesville Police Department's Criminal Response Team conducted a routine traffic stop, leading to...
Arrest Made After Illegal Drug Related ComplaintsStatesville, North Carolina – February 11, 2024: The Statesville Police Department has successfully addressed complaints regarding illeg...
Districts 1 & District 4 Community Meeting
Mar 21, 2024
6:00 PM EDT
1875 Simonton Rd
Statesville, NC 28677
Read More 
Community Fun Day - Kimbrough Park
Mar 22, 2024
4:00 PM EDT
1833 Greenbriar Rd.
Statesville, NC 28625
Read More